Awards 2023

We had a fantastic Awards Ceremony at our AGM on 2nd November, held at St Mellitus College in London. This is a joint collaboration between EASA and National Churches Trust. We had nine shortlisted entries over three awards, and the standard was really high across the board.

The winners are as follows:

The King of Prussia Gold Medal

The King of Prussia Gold Medal is for innovative, high quality church conservation or repair work.

Winner: Saltaire United Reformed Church
Storm Dennis in February 2020 caused the partial collapse of the church ceiling. Arctic Associates were requested to oversee the repair, removal of the damaged ceiling plaster and reinstatement of the plasterwork. The Grade I building is located in a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

The Presidents’ Award

The Presidents’ Award is given for the best example of a new church building or for extensions to churches.

Winner: St John’s, Waterloo
Eric Parry Architects has completed the £5.5 million restoration of the Grade II* listed church in London. The careful renovation has revealed key elements of the historic interior of the church to create and safeguard a high-quality space for worship, arts and community events.

Highly Commended: St Hilda’s Church and Kirkleatham Parish Centre, Redcar
A new build community church and parish centre, constructed on a limited budget in a far from affluent area by Chance DeSilva.

Young Architect or Surveyor of the Year

The award is available to an architect who has been responsible for a shortlisted design for the King of Prussia Gold Medal or the Presidents’ Award.

Winner: Walthamstow St Mary the Virgin.

Alex Spicer of Matthew Lloyd Architects for Walthamstow St Mary the Virgin.

, ,